Nella Hunkins   Cellist
Brief biography

Teaching, workshops  
and masterclasses

Concert schedule

Solo cello

The Bach Duo

The Montpellier Duo

The Tivoli Trio

Listen to some of Nella's playing:
Bach: Air on the G String
Brahms: Piano Quartet in C Minor (Andante)

“Then came Shostakovich’s only
Cello Sonata (Op.40) in a passionate reading by SSO principal cellist Nella Hunkins  and pianist Low Shao Ying. Hunkins dedicated her performance of the elegiac slow movement to her Russian grandparents, with its heart- on-sleeve Slavic melancholy laid bare. Elsewhere, the duo revelled in the Russian’s curious blend of easy lyricism and spiky dissonance.

The see-sawing and obstinate rhythms of the Scherzo immediately brought to mind  a performance of this movement in the very same venue by a ‘late great’ – Mstislav Rostropovich in 1992. That this evening’s performance could stand shoulder to shoulder speaks volumes; Hunkins’ generous artistry will be missed on her departure from the SSO.”

Straits Times, Singapore